Help : Administrator
 
<|<OOOOOOOOOOOO*>>|

Please note that this documentation is outdated.

Visit the Photo Organizer Wiki for current documentation. This will be fixed in a future release.

 

SYSTEM ADMINISTRATION

After installation an administrator account is created. The login name for this account is admin, the password is also admin. This account will display an extra Admin tab in the main menu which will provide the system administrator interface to change user and client membership levels or removing them all together.

There are four account types available:

  • Administrator - root account.
  • User - for this account photo management is enabled, customizable photo viewing and datebook.
  • Client - only user registration, customized photo view and datebook is enabled for this account
  • Disabled - the user can log in but the system gives no privileges.
Except for the administrator account, the type of all other accounts can be changed by the administrator. User accounts can be downgraded into client accounts (this way the user's photos will not be visible for the public). Clients can request the system administrator to upgrade their accounts into user accounts. In case the account was a user account before all photos in that account will become visible again. And finally accounts can be disabled.

Besides user management the administrator should set up the registration parameters in the System Preferences table. When a new user registers these values will be used to create the user account. The most important paramenter is the New User Type since this will enable new users to upload photos and create a portfolio.

IMAGE REPOSITORY ADMINISTRATION

The Photo Organizer image repository is composed by volumes, which are automatically generated by the system, following rules set up by the system administrator.

Whenever a new photo is uploaded into the system, it will be stored in the current volume. As the current volume reaches it's maximum limit imposed by the system administrator, a new volume is created and used for further uploads. The name of the new volume is generated by incrementing the previous volume name. Say your current volume is v0034. As this volume gets full, the system will create a v0035 volume and use it as the new current volume.

The image repository manager can be also used to fill up existing volumes. For instance you have already created five volumes of the following size:

v0000 ... 330Mb
v0001 ... 298Mb
v0002 ... 457Mb
v0003 ... 82Mb
v0004 ... 129Mb

and you want to equalize them so that each volume has 640Mb. All you have to do is to set the first volume v0000 as current volume, and set the maximum volume size to 640Mb. When the current volume (v0000) reaches the maximum limit, the system will start filling up the following volume (v0001) and so on. When all existing volumes are full new volumes will be created.

Currently you cannot downsize volume sizes and reshape your image repository. Say you want to downsize the volumes from the previous scenario to 200Mb and you expect the system to create 7 volumes of the following size:

v0000 ... 200Mb
v0001 ... 200Mb
v0002 ... 200Mb
v0003 ... 200Mb
v0004 ... 200Mb
v0005 ... 200Mb
v0006 ... 96Mb

However it is possible to implement this volume reshaping algorithm. If you need this feature let me know about it.

Note that the volume size calculation is not perfectly accurate. When uploading a new photo, the photo's thumbnail and preview is not taken into account (as these are scaled after the volume size calculation) and therefore volumes might become slightly larger than the specified maximum size.


SEE ALSO

 
<|<OOOOOOOOOOOO*>>|
 
Powered by Photo Organizer v2.37.1
[Copyright and licensing notices]