|Help : Folders and Albums|
Please note that this documentation is outdated.
Visit the Photo Organizer Wiki for current documentation. This will be fixed in a future release.
FOLDERS AND ALBUMS
Folders and albums are photo collections. The difference between folders and albums is that while one photo belongs to one and only one folder, it can be linked to an unlimited number of albums, which therefore may can contain photos belonging to different folders.
Say, you have just returned from your "Irish" assignment. You have created a folder called Conemara, and uploaded all your photos taken in the Conemara National Park into that folder. Now you want to share those photos with others, creating different sets of photos for your friends, customers and your grandmother. One of your customers is interested in landscapes, so you will create an album named Landscapes and link all the landscape photos from the Conemara folder to the newly created album. You might also add other landscapes from previous assignments, stored in different folders. Another client is interested in hiking locations, so you will create an album called Conemara Hiking Locations and link all related photos from the Conemara folder to the Conemara Hiking Locations album. Your grandmother is most likely interested in photos where you appear, so you will create an album called For Lovely Grandma and link all the related photos to that album.
Folders and albums have access rights, and as such, the same rules apply as for any item with access rights. Private folders and albums are visible only to the owner. Public folders and albums are visible to anybody (including surfers), while protected folders and albums are visible only to registered clients of the owner.
Since each item has its own access rights, it is possible that public folders and albums contain private photos, or vice versa. The general rule is that the access rights of the folders or albums are applied over their content. Therefore a private folder containing public pictures will hide the pictures from other users.
Folders and albums can be added and renamed at anytime. However, only empty folders can be removed (so in order to remove a folder you have to remove its content first). No such restrictions exist for albums, but removing albums will also remove the links to the photos while keeping the photos themselves unchanged.
The owner of the photos can relocate them, moving them into
a different folder from the current one. Each photo will
have a check box displayed at the bottom right corner of the thumbnail
(if and only if the user has the appropriate rights), which is
used to mark the photo for printing, moving or linking. You can select
all visible photos by pressing the
Once photos are selected you can move them into a different folder,
by selecting the appropriate folder and pressing the
Moving photos already linked to albums does not affect the albums' composition.
Linking photos to albums is very similar to moving photos between folders.
You select the photos you want to link to the destination album in
the same way as when moving them, then select the album and click
It is possible to save search results into albums, to do this you have to create the albums before you execute the search.